Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Using a GPO to disable the 'Windows XP tour' balloon

Howto remove the annoying "windows xp tour" popup using group policys in Active Directory.

1E Business Blogs | Using a GPO to disable the 'Windows XP tour' balloon

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

OSX in AD Environment - Server Time and Slow Network Issues

Are you running OSX in an AD environment
do you find slow network performance
does your directoryservice process max out to 100%

then you probably have a timesync issue.

If your mac's clock is out by too much compared to your MS server then you will have trouble binding to the AD.
This is a security measure in AD.

I found that my Macbook Pro had time set to update automatically from the web
whereas the Microsoft server was set to a different time.
so there was a time difference of about 8 mins

The best way to fix this is to setup your MS server NTP to update from a trusted server on the web.
then get all your clients to update from the internal server.

i just set my mac's clock to be the same as the server.

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

howto install vmware .bundle

open terminal
cd Downloads dir
sudo sh VMware-Workstation-*.bundle

Tuesday, January 05, 2010

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Google Chrome & Chrome Extensions

i am loving google chrome

  • Its fast
  • its not a resource hog like firefox
  • and now it has most of the plugins/extensions that I need

Google Chrome Extensions

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Using Outlook - Leave e-mail messages on your e-mail server

From Microsoft's Website

When you retrieve e-mail messages from a POP3 e-mail account, the messages are deleted from the e-mail server by default after they are downloaded to your computer. For many people, this works great.
However, if you want to check your e-mail from multiple computers, you must configure Outlook to not delete the messages on your e-mail server. This scenario is most common for people who want to check their home Internet service provider (ISP) e-mail account from work and download the messages for permanent storage on their home computer.
When you leave messages on your e-mail server, you can choose from several options to delete your messages. To make your choice, you need to consider several factors about your e-mail usage, such as how long you want the messages to be accessible from multiple computers and the storage limits imposed by your e-mail server administrator. If you exceed your storage limit, you might be unable to receive new messages or might be charged additional fees. Typically, it is best to have one computer set to the default setting that doesn't leave e-mail messages on the e-mail server. When you use the computer to retrieve your e-mail messages, they are downloaded and deleted from the e-mail server. If you choose not to do this, Outlook allows you to select a time duration for leaving e-mail messages on the server.
  1. On the Tools menu, click E-mail Accounts.
  2. Click View or change existing e-mail accounts, and then click Next.
  3. Select your ISP account, and then click Change.
  4. Click More Settings.
  5. Click the Advanced tab, and under Delivery, select the Leave a copy of messages on the server check box.
    Internet E-mail Settings dialog box
  6. Select one of the following options:
    • Remove from server after x days   E-mail messages are downloaded to your computer but remain on the e-mail server for the number of days that you specify. This is the most common setting for people who want to read their messages at work but also download them for permanent storage on their home computer. We recommend that you choose the smallest number of days that suits your needs. The longer you leave messages on your e-mail server, the greater the risk of exceeding your mailbox size quota.
    • Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'   E-mail messages are downloaded to your computer but also remain on the e-mail server indefinitely until you delete the e-mail message in Outlook and empty the Deleted Items folder. Just deleting the message doesn't remove the message from the e-mail server.
    If you do not select either check box, messages are left on the server indefinitely. You can eventually exceed your mailbox quota, unless you connect to the e-mail server from another computer that has Outlook configured to remove messages from the e-mail server.
  7. Click OK, and then click Finish.